Hello, a warm welcome from the deck of CricBails, West Indies Cricket has announced the squad of West Indies Women to play the T20I Tri-Series against India and South Africa Women’s ahead of Women’s T20 World Cup 2023. The Tri-Series is set to start from 19 to 30 January 2023 in East London and will be as part of their final preparations for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in February.

The West Indies Women will play at least four matches, two against hosts South Africa and two against India. The top two teams will then face off in the Tri-Series Final on February 2 at Buffalo Park. West Indies will also play a warm-up match against South Africa before the Tri-Series begins on January 16 at Beacon Bay.

West Indies Cricket chief selector said “Our batting in the most recent series was less than par against a very good England bowling attack. We believe that with the return of some experienced batters, they will the able to support captain Hayley Matthews at the top of the order. Shamilia Connell and Shakera Selman also return after injury and will fortify the pace attack with Chinelle Henry, Cherry Ann Fraser and Aaliyah Alleyne.

The team had commendable performances in South Africa in early 2022 and we know that the entire team will be drawing on that experience as they take on the home team and India in this Tri-Series and then potentially again at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup also in South Africa.”

West Indies Women’s Cricket team also got the service of their two Fast bowlers Shakira Selman ad Shamila Connell who was missing from the squad due to minor injuries.

West Indies Women’s Squad: Hayley Matthews (c), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Chedean Nation, Cherry Ann Fraser, Afy Fletcher, Shabika Gajnabi, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Karishma Ramharack, Kaysia Schultz, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams

Tri-Series Match Schedule

16 January: Warm-up Match vs South Africa, Beacon Bay

T20I Tri-Series West Indies Match Schedule – all matches are to be played at Buffalo Park, East London

21 January: vs South Africa, 3 PM local time (9 AM Eastern Caribbean/8 AM Jamaica)

23 January: vs India, 7 PM local time (1 PM Eastern Caribbean/12 Noon Jamaica)

25 January: vs South Africa, 3 PM local time (9 AM Eastern Caribbean/8 AM Jamaica)

30 January: vs India, 3 PM local time (9 AM Eastern Caribbean/8 AM Jamaica)

2 February: Tri-Series Final, 3 PM local time (9 AM Eastern Caribbean/8 AM Jamaica)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.