Temba Bavuma, South Africa’s white-ball captain, will miss the upcoming tour of England due to an elbow injury. Bavuma, who suffered the injury during the recent India tour, will need eight weeks to rehabilitate before beginning his return to play. In his absence, the CSA has named David Miller and Keshav Maharaj as stand-in skippers for the T20I and ODI squads, respectively.

Gerald Coetzee, 21, has received his first T20I call-up, while former Kolpak player Rilee Rossouw returns to the squad for the first time since the 2016 T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, paceman Kagiso Rabada has been sidelined from the One-Day International squad in order to manage his workload.

“The T20 format is a top priority for us right now because the ICC T20 World Cup is coming up in Australia in a few months,” CSA Convenor of Selectors Victor Mpitsang said. “We’re trying to balance our goal to keep enough stability inside the setup that the players are acclimated to playing together as a team by the time they get in Australia for the World Cup.” This series will go a long way toward assisting us in meeting all of those goals.

“While the ODI series is not for Super League points, the 50-over format is critical as we prepare for the ICC World Cup in India in 2023. The combinations we attempted and the results we got will help us prepare for the competition.”

South Africa’s nearly two-month tour of the United Kingdom will conclude with a three-match Test series, the squad for which includes first-team regulars such as Rabada, Marco Jansen, Aiden Markram, and others who missed the previous assignment against Bangladesh due to a scheduling conflict with the IPL 2022. The series kicks off on July 19 with the first two One-Day Internationals at Chester le Street.

South Africa’s complete schedule of the England Tour

Date Team Game Venue
Jul 19, Tue ENG vs SA 1st ODI Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street
Jul 22, Fri ENG vs SA 2nd ODI Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester
Jul 24, Sun ENG vs SA 3rd ODI Headingley, Leeds
Jul 27, Wed ENG vs SA 1st T20I County Ground, Bristol
Jul 28, Thu ENG vs SA 2nd T20I Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
Jul 31, Sun ENG vs SA 3rd T20I The Rose Bowl, Southampton
Aug 17, Wed – Aug 21, Sun ENG vs SA 1st Test Lord’s, London
Aug 25, Thu – Aug 29, Mon ENG vs SA 2nd Test Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester
Sep 08, Thu – Sep 12, Mon ENG vs SA 3rd Test Kennington Oval, London

South Africa ODI Squad against England: Keshav Maharaj (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo, Kyle Verreynne

South Africa T20I Squad against England: David Miller (c), Gerald Coetzee , Quinton de Kock , Reeza Hendricks , Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj , Aiden Markram , Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw , Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen.

South Africa Test Squad against England: Dean Elgar (c), Sarel Erwee, Marco Jansen, Simon Harmer, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Khaya Zondo, Glenton Stuurman

Yet to be describe.......

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.