(Photo by Gareth Copley-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

Ireland T20 WC 2022 Squad: Hello, a warm good evening from the deck of CricBails, Cricket Ireland announced their ICC T20 world Cup 2022 squad on Tuesday. Conor Olphert and Fionn Hand got their maiden T20 World Cup call-ups.

The squad will depart on September 29, 2022, for Sydney, where they will play a three-match warm-up series hosted by partners Randwick Petersham Cricket Club before the event support period begins on October 9, 2022.

Ireland Cricket Board announced a 15 players squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 where they named uncapped Wicketkeeper Batter Stephan Doheny as the second Wicketkeeper while the team already has the service of Lorcan Tucker to keep behind the stumps.

Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors, said:

“It’s an exciting time for Irish cricket as we embark on another major global tournament. Over the last year, we have been building a solid core squad while creating more depth in our T20 cricket. I think fans have started to see the positive strides the players have been making in this format – especially with the series win over Afghanistan – and we hope we can take this momentum into the tournament in Australia.

“Our belief is that this T20 World Cup is not an endpoint but the beginning of a new era. The age profile of this squad makes our future prospects very exciting, and after a season of eye-catching performances, we have seen a greater level of interest in our players by teams in franchise tournaments around the world, which is a positive sign.

“One of the most pleasing aspects of our recent performances is the way the middle order has stepped up – particularly the likes of Harry Tector and George Dockrell. The label ‘finisher’ is often overused, but George’s reinvention, in particular, has been pivotal in recent successes – his experience and calmness under pressure will be indispensable as we move into competitive action.

“One of the most considered decisions we had to make was around our spin bowling options. With George Dockrell and Gareth Delany both having an impact this summer and the variation they bring to the attack, it came down to making a choice between Simi Singh and Andy McBrine. Andy can feel very unfortunate to have missed out this time, but we believe Simi offers more variation on Australian wickets with his ability to take the ball away from both right and left-handers.’

“We believe this is one of the strongest T20 squads we have sent to a World Cup and wish the team and coaching staff well for the tournament ahead.”

Ireland T20 WC 2022 Squad:

Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Paul Stirling (vice-captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Yet to be describe.......

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.