Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Squad:
Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Squad: Image Credit: ICC Media / ICC

Cricket Commonwealth Games 2022: Cricket will be contested at the Commonwealth Games for the first time in 24 years, with the first women’s tournament taking place.

Eight teams will compete in 16 matches in Edgbaston, with a winner and all medals awarded on August 7.

Everything you need to know before the first ball of the T20 event on July 29.

Cricket Commonwealth Games 2022 Groups:

The teams are divided into two groups of four, with the top two from each group advancing to the semi-finals. Teams who finish first in their group will face the second-place finisher in the opposite group in the semi-finals, with the semi-final winners advancing to the final.

The losers of the semi-finals will compete for the bronze medal in a third-place playoff, with the final choosing the gold and silver medalists.

Australia, Barbados, India, and Pakistan are in Group A.

Group B consists of England, New Zealand, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.

Is West Indies not Part of CWG 2022?

While the team’s T20I rating would have been strong enough for automatic qualification, the West Indies is made up of nations that compete in the Commonwealth Games separately, therefore their participation in the tournament was to be determined via a regional qualifier.

The qualifier was canceled due to Covid-19, and Barbados were chosen because they won the most recent Twenty20 Blaze in 2019.

How did teams qualify for the CWG 2022?

The top five teams in the ICC Women’s T20I standings and England, the tournament’s hosts, both received automatic qualification (Australia, India, New Zealand, South Africa, and Pakistan).

At the Commonwealth Games Qualifier, which was contested at the Kinrara Oval in Malaysia, the final slot was decided.

Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu defeated Bangladesh, Scotland, Malaysia, and Kenya for the final berth in the five-team round-robin competition, finishing the competition unbeaten.

When the two teams met in the competition’s championship game, Sri Lanka prevailed against Nigar Sultana Joty’s squad by 22 runs. Athapaththu’s 48 (28) was the highest score amongst the two teams. Athapaththu, who naturally scored the most runs during the competition, will probably pose the most threat to Sri Lanka’s opponents during the actual tournament.

Has cricket been featured at the Commonwealth Games before?

The Kuala Lumpur Games in 1998 included a 16-team men’s event for cricket, which had previously appeared at the Games.

South Africa defeated Australia in the championship match to win gold, chasing down a target of 184 following Shaun Pollock’s 4/19. (9). Mike Rindel led the way with 67 points (106), and Jacques Kallis’ 44 points sealed the victory. Chris Harris played a key role in the bronze medal game, scoring 56* to tie for the game’s highest total before capturing 2/20 (7.4) to help his team win by 51 runs.

Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Schedule:

Group A Schedule

Date & Time Team A Team B
Jul 29, Friday Australia India
Jul 29, Friday Pakistan Barbados
Jul 31, Sunday India Pakistan
Jul 31, Sunday Barbados Australia
Aug 03, Wednesday Australia Pakistan
Aug 03, Wednesday India Barbados

Group B Schedule

Date & Time Team A Team B
Jul 30, Saturday New Zealand South Africa
Jul 30, Saturday England Sri Lanka
Aug 02, Tuesday England South Africa
Aug 02, Tuesday Sri Lanka New Zealand
Aug 04, Thursday South Africa New Zealand
Aug 04, Thursday England New Zealand

Final Stage Schedule

Date & Time Team A Team B Game
Aug 06, Saturday TBC TBC 1st Semi-Final
Aug 06, Saturday TBC TBC 2nd Semi-Final
Aug 07, Sunday TBC TBC 3rd Place Play-off
Aug 07, Sunday TBC TBC Final

Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Squad:

Australia Women’s: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes, Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Barbados Women’s: Aaliyah Alleyne, Shanika Bruce, Shai Carrington, Shaunte Carrington, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Keila Elliott, Trishan Holder, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Hayley Matthews, Alisa Scantlebury, Shakera Selman, Tiffany Thorpe, Aaliyah Williams.

England Women’s: Heather Knight (c), Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Nat Sciver, Bryony Smith, Issy Wong, Danni Wyatt.

India Women’s: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Sabbhineni Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia, Yastika Bhatia, Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.

India Standby: Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh, Poonam Yadav.

New Zealand Women’s: Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Izzy Gaze, Claudia Green, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Jess McFadyen, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu.

Pakistan Women’s: Bismah Maroof (c), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Tuba Hassan.

South Africa Women’s: Suné Luus (c), Chloé Tryon, Anneke Bosch, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp*, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune*, Laura Wolvaardt

* Returning home after sustaining an injury and Tazmin Britz selected as Standby.

Sri Lanka Women’s: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Rashmi de Silva, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Anushka Sanjeewani

Yet to be describe.......

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.